skip navigation

Fury FC Learns Path in Canadian Championship

By Staff, 02/12/19, 7:47PM EST


Ottawa will face one of Vaughan Azzurri, HFX Wanderers FC or Valour FC in July

Photo courtesy Steve Kingsman / Freestyle Photography / Ottawa Fury FC

OTTAWA – Ottawa Fury FC learned its path in the 2019 Canadian Championship on Tuesday evening as the full draw for the expanded 13-team tournament was unveiled by Canada Soccer for the historic event.

Entering in the Third Qualifying Round, Fury FC will face one of Vaughan Azzurri, HFX Wanderers FC or Valour FC when it enters the tournament this July. The winner of the two-legged tie between Ottawa and its three potential opponents will face defending Canadian champion Toronto FC in the semifinals.

The champion of League1 Ontario, Vaughan Azzurri will square off with new Canadian Premier League club HFX Wanderers FC in the opening round, to be held over two legs on May 15th and 22nd. The winner of that tie moves on to face another CPL side in Valour FC – based in Winnipeg, Manitoba – in the Second Qualifying Round on June 5th and 12th, and the side to advance from that tie will face Fury FC.

“The Canadian Championship has provided a tremendous springboard for Canadian players and Canada’s professional teams to gain invaluable experience in international competition with Toronto FC, Montreal Impact FC, and the Vancouver Whitecaps having advanced deep into the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League,” said Peter Montopoli, General Secretary, Canada Soccer. “The opening round matchups kick off a unique coast-to-coast competition with Canadian Championship matches hosted in five different Canada Soccer Member Association provinces.”

Elsewhere in the draw, the opening round will see an all-CPL clash as Cavalry FC squares off with Pacific FC, while back-to-back Première Ligue de soccer du Québec (PLSQ) champions AS Blainville – which was eliminated in last year’s tournament by Fury FC – will play host to the CPL’s York9 FC.

The winner of the Calvary FC-Pacific FC clash will face fellow CPL side Forge FC in the Second Qualifying Round, with the winner of that tie moving on to face Major League Soccer’s Vancouver Whitecaps FC in the Third Qualifying Round. The winner of the series between AS Blainville and York9 FC will then meet the CPL’s FC Edmonton, with a contest against Major League Soccer’s Montreal Impact awaiting the winner.

The 2019 Canadian Championship winner and Canada 1 entrant into the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League will be determined over two legs on 18 and 25 September. The Voyageurs Cup and George Gross Memorial Trophy will be awarded on 25 September to the Champions and competition’s most valuable player.

Follow the USL Championship

Latest USL Championship News

Most Read USL Championship News

Latest Videos