skip navigation

2018 USL Fans' Choice Goal of the Year – Final

By Staff, 12/17/18, 5:30PM EST


San Antonio’s Bruce squares off with Swope Park’s Kuzain for award in final vote

TAMPA, Fla. – San Antonio FC’s Alex Bruce will square off with the Swope Park Rangers’ Wan Kuzain in the Final of the 2018 USL Fans’ Choice Goal of the Year contest after their two standout strikes advanced past stiff semifinal opposition to advance.

Kuzain’s spectacular free kick against Tulsa Roughnecks FC – which earlier this year landed on ESPN’s SportsCenter Top 10 – took a big victory against Ottawa Fury FC’s Cristian Portilla, registering 71 percent of the vote to send the No. 3 player in the 2018 USL Championship 20 Under 20 into the Final.

Bruce’s tremendous equalizer against OKC Energy FC at Toyota Field had a narrower victory, but still claimed 55 percent of the vote to defeat FC Cincinnati’s Kenney Walker in the other semifinal.

Voting in the Final will continue through 12 p.m. ET on Friday, December 21.

2018 Fans’ Choice Goal of the Year Voting Schedule
First Round: 
Second Round: 12/3-12/10
The Rebound: 12/10-12/12
Semifinals: 12/12-12/17
Final: 12/17-12/21

USL Fans’ Choice Goal of the Year Finalists

Wan Kuzain (SPR) - #SPRvTUL, 8/29/18: Kuzain produced a spectacular free kick that landed him on SportsCenter’s Top 10 for the second time this year, firing a dipping shot that picked out the bottom-left corner at Children’s Mercy Park.

Alex Bruce (SA) - #SAvOKC, 7/4/18: Bruce came off the bench and fired a spectacular curling finish from 25 yards into the top-right corner that earned his side a point against visiting Energy FC.

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos