skip navigation

Sounders FC 2 Signs All-League Selection Ulysse To New Contract

By Staff, 11/15/18, 10:14AM EST


USL Championship All-League Second Team defender among 13 players set to return for 2019 campaign

SEATTLE, Wash. - Seattle Sounders FC 2 announced on Wednesday that it had signed 2018 USL Championship All-League selection Denso Ulysse to a new contract for the 2019 season, pending league and federation approval. The club also exercised the contract options of defender Nick Hinds, forward Shandon Hopeau and midfielders Antonee Burke-Gilroy and Jesse Daley. Defender Sam Rogers, midfielder Marlon Vargas and forwards Azriel Gonzalez, Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez and Ray Serrano were already under contract for next season, in addition to 2019 signings Alec Diaz, Danny Leyva and Danny Robles.

Ulysse, 19, was named to the USL Championship All-League Second Team and was a member of the 2018 USL 20 Under 20 after a strong second season with S2 that saw him record 28 starts and 2,466 minutes of action, starting in every game in which he appeared. The right back led all S2 defenders and ranked tied for fourth on the club in shots (20), and ranked first among S2 defenders with 20 chances created. Ulysse also led multiple defensive categories for Seattle, including 78 interceptions and 144 duels won, while ranking tied for the club lead with 13 blocked shots. His 78 interceptions were tied for the third-most in the league.

Additionally, the club declined the contract options of defenders Jalen Markey and Ibrahim Usman, and announced that defender Rodrigue Ele, midfielder Francisco Narbon and forward David Olsen are out of contract and will not return to the team. The club's current roster sits at 13 players ahead of the 2019 USL season.

"We'd like to thank Jalen, Ibrahim, Rodrigue, Francisco and David for the time and efforts they invested in our club," said Sounders FC Director of Player Development Marc Nicholls. "They were all an important part of our team while they were here, and we wish them great success in the future."


Defenders (3): Nick Hinds, Sam Rogers, Denso Ulysse

Midfielders (5): Antonee Burke-Gilroy, Jesse Daley, Danny Leyva, Danny Robles, Marlon Vargas

Forwards (5): Alec Diaz, Azriel Gonzalez, Shandon Hopeau, Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez, Ray Serrano

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos