skip navigation

USL Honorees Selected for International Action

By Staff, 11/14/18, 4:48PM EST


27 players that featured in 2018 campaign called up for games across four continents

TAMPA, Fla. – The USL Championship will once again be well represented around the world as a large contingent of 27 players – including three that were recently honored in the 2018 USL All-League Teams – were selected by their respective national teams for action that spans the UEFA Nations League, Concacaf Nations League Qualifying and Africa Cup of Nations Qualifying over the next week.

Ottawa Fury FC goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau – who on Monday was named the 2018 USL Goalkeeper of the Year – has been named alongside teammate David Edgar in the Canada squad that will take on St. Kitts & Nevis and OKC Energy FC’s Atiba Harris in a crucial game in Concacaf Nations League Qualifying on Sunday at Warner Park, Basseterre.

Both countries have taken a pair of wins in their opening two games of the qualifying tournament as Canada sits third and St Kitts & Nevis fifth in the overall qualifying standings. The top six teams in qualification will both advance to the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup and be placed in League A for the 2019 Concacaf Nations League alongside regional powers like the United States, Mexico and Costa Rica.

The Swope Park Rangers’ Hadji Barry – who last week was named to the 2018 USL All-League Second Team – has earned his first selection to Guinea’s National Team as it looks to seal its place at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations next June. Also named to the squad is FC Cincinnati’s Pa Konate, with Guinea within reach of a place in the tournament as it faces the Ivory Coast on Sunday.

The Charleston Battery’s Ataulla Guerra – who joined Barry in the forward line of the 2018 USL All-League Second Team – is one of four selections to the Trinidad & Tobago National team that will face Iran in an international exhibition on Thursday morning in Tehran. Also included in the Soca Warriors’ squad are the Charlotte Independence’s Kevan George and Cordell Cato, and Indy Eleven’s Nathan Lewis.

2018 USL Cup-winners Speedy Williams and Shaun Francis of Louisville City FC are among four USL players named to the Jamaica side that will face Suriname on Saturday at the Montego Bay Sports Complex, Montego Bay as the side looks to boost its sixth-place position in the Concacaf Nations League qualifying standings. Joining Williams and Francis are San Antonio FC’s Omar Gordon and the Charlotte Independence’s Je-Vaughn Watson as the Reggae Boyz look to make it three wins from three in the qualifying tournament.

USL National Team Selections – Nov. 2018 Window

Canada – Maxime Crepeau (Ottawa Fury FC), David Edgar (Ottawa Fury FC)

El Salvador – Joaquin Rivas (Tulsa Roughnecks FC)

Guatemala – Pablo Aguilar (Rio Grande Valley FC)

Guinea – Pa Konate (FC Cincinnati), Hadji Barry (Swope Park Rangers)

Guyana – Emery Welshman (FC Cincinnati)

Haiti – Jimmy Sanon (Ottawa Fury FC)

Jamaica – Speedy Williams (Louisville City FC), Shaun Francis (Louisville City FC), Je-Vaughn Watson (Charlotte Independence), Omar Gordon (San Antonio FC)

Jordan – Jaime Siaj (OKC Energy FC)

Liberia – Joel Johnson (Charlotte Independence)

Montenegro – Emrah Klimenta (Sacramento Republic FC)

Palestine – Nazmi Albadawi (FC Cincinnati)

Panama – Carlos Small (Rio Grande Valley FC)

Puerto Rico – Cody Laurendi (OKC Energy FC), Jeremy Hall (Sacramento Republic FC), Jorge Rivera (Penn FC)

St. Kitts & Nevis – Atiba Harris (OKC Energy FC)

Trinidad & Tobago – Cordell Cato (Charlotte Independence), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence), Ataulla Guerra (Charleston Battery), Nathan Lewis (Indy Eleven)

Turks & Caicos – Billy Forbes (Phoenix Rising FC)

Zambia – Prosper Chiluya (Bethelhem Steel FC)

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos