skip navigation

SAFC, Energy FC Renew Rivalry

By NICHOLAS MURRAY -, 10/24/17, 3:58PM EDT


First postseason meeting between clubs set for Toyota Field

SAN ANTONIO – The rivalry between San Antonio FC and OKC Energy FC arrives in the USL Cup Playoffs for the first time this Saturday night as No. 2-seed SAFC and No. 6-seed Energy FC square off at Toyota Field in the Western Conference Semifinals, with Energy FC aiming to continue a five-game winning streak and San Antonio a five-game undefeated streak. Kickoff for #SAvOKC is set for 8:30 p.m. ET and the game can be seen live on the USL Match Center.

@SanAntonioFC fought back from a halftime deficit to earn victory in its inaugural contest in the USL Cup Playoffs as goals by Cesar Elizondo and a stoppage-time winner by Ever Guzman earned a 2-1 victory against No. 7-seed Tulsa Roughnecks FC. Guzman’s goal was his fifth in the past four outings for SAFC, with the Mexican forward now tied for third on the team in goals alongside Elizondo. After leading the USL with 15 shutouts in the regular season, however, SAFC has conceded in each of its past four contests.  

@EnergyFC continued its strong end-of-regular-season form as it defeated No. 3-seed Reno 1868 FC 1-0 at Greater Nevada Field, one of two upsets in the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals. Wojciech Wojcik scored the opening goal late in the first half, and goalkeeper C.J. Cochran posted a five-save shutout to secure victory for OKC, which has now claimed victory in three consecutive postseasons. Energy FC has also held a slight edge over SAFC in the all-time series between the teams, winning once and drawing five times in six prior meetings, a streak that San Antonio will be eager to end on its home turf.

Opta Says

  • 176 – San Antonio FC winger Billy Forbes has recorded 176 touches in the opposing penalty area this season, more than any other player in the USL.

  • 13 – Energy FC forward Jose Angulo scored 13 left-footed goals in the 2017 regular season, the most of any player in the league.

Projected Lineups

  • San Antonio (4-2-3-1) – GK: Diego Restrepo; D: Ben Newnam, Sebastien Ibeagha, Stephen McCarthy, Greg Cochrane; DM: Pecka, Ryan Roushandel; AM: Billy Forbes, Cesar Elizondo, Omar Gordon; F: Ever Guzman

  • OKC (4-4-2) – GK: C.J. Cochran; D: Richard Dixon, Mickey Daly, Anthony Wallace, Kyle Hyland; M: Alex Dixon, Juan Pablo Guzman, Jose Barril, Miguel Gonzalez; F: Jose Angulo, Wojchech Wojcik


  • San Antonio – None

  • OKC – None



  • AR1: Jeremy Weed

  • AR2: Jesus Moya

  • 4TH: Luis Guardia

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos