skip navigation

Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC’s Bob Lilley voted USL Championship Coach of the Year

By Staff, 11/15/23, 1:00PM EST


League’s all-time leader in coaching victories claims second individual honor in Championship era as Hounds won Players’ Shield

Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC’s Bob Lilley was named the 2023 USL Championship Coach of the Year on Wednesday, with the legendary Head Coach claimed the honor for the second time in the USL Championship era after leading the Hounds to the Players’ Shield with the best record in the 2023 regular season.

Now in his third decade on the sidelines, Lilley guided the Hounds to the top of the Eastern Conference standings for the second time in the past five seasons. Pittsburgh suffered a league-fewest five defeats in the regular season, conceded the fewest goals in the Eastern Conference (29), and recorded 67 points – an average of 1.97 per game across the 34-game schedule.

The Hounds’ position as a postseason contender has been a hallmark of Lilley’s six-year tenure at the club. Having previously only advanced to the playoffs in consecutive seasons once prior to Lilley’s arrival in 2018, the side has now reached the USL Championship Playoffs in six consecutive campaigns.

In addition to the club’s league success, the Hounds also advanced to the Quarterfinals of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup for the first time since 2001, defeating the New England Revolution and Columbus Crew SC – sides that finished fifth and third respectively in Major League Soccer’s Eastern Conference this season – along the way.

“We had a very good season, and it couldn't have happened without the effort of our whole coaching staff, Dan Visser and Jon Busch, as well as the tremendous support ownership and the front office provided to allow us to build a winning team,” said Lilley. “Our players worked hard all season and bought in to how we wanted to play, and it was through the contributions of everyone involved that we were able to win the Players' Shield this season.”

Honored previously as Coach of the Year in 2015, when he led the Rochester Rhinos to the Players’ Shield and USL Championship title, Lilley is the second coach in the Championship era to win the award twice alongside former Orlando City SC Head Coach Adrian Heath, who won the award in 2011 and 2012. The 57-year-old has also become the league’s all-time leader in coaching victories, currently holding an overall regular season record of 163-66-97 in the Championship era.

Lilley received 61 percent of the ballot to earn this year’s award. Charleston Battery Head Coach Ben Pirmann finished second on 20 percent after leading his new club to a league-record 34-point improvement on the way to a third-place finish in the Eastern Conference, and an eventual berth in the 2023 USL Championship Final, while Sacramento Republic FC’s Mark Briggs finished third on nine percent as he led his side to the top of the Western Conference. Seven individuals received votes overall.

The 2023 USL Championship Awards were voted on by club management and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL market.

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos

  • There Can Be Only One | USL All Access

  • By Staff 11/10/2023, 5:10pm EST
  • Mike Watts and Devon Kerr talk to the Charleston Battery’s Rob Salvatore, Phoenix Rising FC’s Panos Armenakas ahead of the 2023 Championship Final
  • Read More