skip navigation

14 USL Championship, League One Players to Compete at 2023 Gold Cup

By Staff, 06/25/23, 1:30PM EDT


Players from 12 teams will represent six nations as group stage kicks off this weekend

San Antonio FC's Shannon Gomez (Trinidad & Tobago), Oakland Roots SC's Bryan Tamacas (El Salvador) and North Carolina FC's Raheem Somersall (St. Kitts and Nevis) are among 14 USL Championship and League One players selected for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup.

Fourteen players from clubs in the USL Championship and USL League One will compete in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. Twelve clubs are set to be represented across six squads following the final field for the group stage being set on Tuesday night with the completion of the preliminary qualifying round.

The USL Championship’s Oakland Roots SC and USL League One’s North Carolina FC will have two representatives apiece at the tournament, with NCFC’s Raheem Somersall set to lead St. Kitts and Nevis into the group stage for the first time after the nation qualified with a penalty shootout victory on Tuesday night against French Guiana.

North Carolina’s Nelson Flores and Oakland’s Bryan Tamacas will team up alongside Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC’s Jairo Henriquez in El Salvador’s squad as the side looks to advance out of a group that also includes Costa Rica and Panama. Tamacas captained La Selecta while Henriquez provided an assist in a 1-1 draw against South Korea on Tuesday in the side’s final preparation game before the tournament.

Roots SC’s Neveal Hackshaw, meanwhile, is part of a five-player contingent from the USL Championship that will represent Trinidad and Tobago. Hackshaw – a two-time Championship All-League selection previously – will be joined by 2022 USL Championship title winner Shannon Gomez of San Antonio FC as well as Leland Archer (Charleston Battery), Ryan Telfer (Miami FC) and Triston Hodge (Hartford Athletic).

The Soca Warriors are in the same group as defending Gold Cup champion the United States and Jamaica, with Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC goalkeeper Jahmali Waite and Phoenix Rising FC midfielder Kevon Lambert called up by the Reggae Boyz. A mainstay for Rising FC, Lambert is set to appear in his third Gold Cup, while Waite is set to serve as the back-up to Andre Blake after starring for the Hounds since making his professional debut last year.

Elsewhere, Tampa Bay Rowdies goalkeeper Raiko Arozarena and FC Tulsa defender Jorge Corrales will represent Cuba, and Sacramento Republic FC forward Luther Archimede will represent Guadeloupe, with Archimede having scored his first goal for his country in its 5-0 win last Friday night in the opening round of preliminary qualifying against Antigua and Barbuda.

The 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup will kick off on Saturday as 16 teams vie for the continental crown. The Final is scheduled for July 16 at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, Calif., with all games to air live on FOX and Univision networks.

USL Championship & League One Players at 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup

Cuba (2): Raiko Arozarena (Tampa Bay Rowdies), Jorge Corrales (FC Tulsa)

El Salvador (3): Nelson Flores (North Carolina FC), Jairo Henriquez (Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC), Bryan Tamacas (Oakland Roots SC)

Guadeloupe (1): Luther Archimede (Sacramento Republic FC)

Jamaica (2): Kevon Lambert (Phoenix Rising FC), Jahmali Waite (Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC)

St. Kitts and Nevis (1): Raheem Somersall (North Carolina FC)

Trinidad and Tobago (5): Leland Archer (Charleston Battery), Ryan Telfer (Miami FC), Shannon Gomez (San Antonio FC), Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots SC), Triston Hodge (Hartford Athletic)

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos