skip navigation

San Antonio FC’s Jordan Farr Voted Championship’s Goalkeeper of the Year

By Staff, 11/08/22, 11:30AM EST


Outstanding season saw Oregon native equal single-season shutout record as SAFC earned best record

TAMPA, Fla. – San Antonio FC’s Jordan Farr was on Tuesday named the 2022 USL Championship Goalkeeper of the Year, honoring a career-best season for the 28-year-old that saw him equal the league’s single-season shutout record and finish second in the race for the Championship Golden Glove while helping San Antonio earn the best record in the 2022 regular season and a first trip to the USL Championship Final.

Farr is the second San Antonio FC goalkeeper to have claimed the award, following Diego Restrepo’s award in the 2017 USL Championship season.

Farr signed with San Antonio this offseason having served as an emergency loanee for the club last postseason after an injury to starter Matt Cardone saw him acquired from Indy Eleven. A run to the Western Conference Final under SAFC Head Coach Alen Marcina before the side fell in a penalty shootout made a big impression on Farr. 

“I remember going into the coach’s office at the end of the Orange County game last year, and I didn’t know if I was going to see them again, I didn’t know what the future held,” he said. “But I remember seeing [Marcina’s] disappointment, and seeing how much he wanted it, and in that short month how much I felt that I was ingrained into the fabric of the team and to feel those feelings of sorrow and closeness to achieving something great.”

Farr wasn’t initially San Antonio’s starter to begin the 2022 campaign, but after the early-season departure of Cristian Bonilla after three games, he grabbed his opportunity. That’s the way it’s often had to be for the Salem, Oregon native, who played at NAIA program Corban College and in USL League Two prior to finding an opportunity with Indy prior to the 2018 season.

“For guys like me, coming from where I’ve come from, don’t normally get recognized at this level or even get a chance to play at this level,” he said. “This means a lot for not only me but my family. Every coach and teammate that believed in me. This goes to my wife, I can’t do anything without her. And for us as a family, it validates a lifelong dream of being a professional soccer player playing at one of the highest levels.”

Off the field, 2022 has been a memorable one as well for Farr and his wife, Ale, who in October welcomed daughter Evie Jean Farr to their family. “It’s amazing to look back and see how much can change in one year,” he said. “It’s crazy how God works, and we kind of have to pinch ourselves every once-in-a-while to make sure we’re not dreaming.”

Next for Farr is the chance to cap his year in this Sunday night’s 2022 USL Championship Final (8:30 p.m. ET | ESPN2 | ESPN Deportes | SiriusXM FC) in which San Antonio looks to become the first team to lift the trophy after ending the regular season with the best record since the New York Red Bulls II side that featured current United States Men’s National Team players Tyler Adams and Aaron Long in 2016.

“We’re just really proud as a family to represent ourselves well but also represent San Antonio well,” said Farr. “And I credit that to our team. This award’s impossible to win on your own, and I couldn’t be happier to play on a team like this.”

Farr earned 48 percent of the ballot to claim the award, while Louisville City FC’s Kyle Morton took second place with 39 percent, and Phoenix Rising FC’s Ben Lundt took third place on 12 percent.

The 2022 USL Championship Awards were voted on by team technical staffs and executives and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL Championship market. Voting was conducted following the conclusion of the 2022 Championship regular season.

2022 USL Championship Awards

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jordan Farr, San Antonio FC
Defender of the Year: Announced November 8
Coach of the Year: Announced November 9
Young Player of the Year: Announced November 9
Most Valuable Player: Announced November 10

USL Championship Goalkeeper of the Year

2011: Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City SC
2012: Kristian Nicht, Rochester Rhinos
2013: Andrew Dykstra, Richmond Kickers
2014: John McCarthy, Rochester Rhinos
2015: Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos
2016: Mitch Hildebrandt, FC Cincinnati
2017: Diego Restrepo, San Antonio FC
2018: Maxime Crepeau, Ottawa Fury FC
2019: Matt Pickens, Nashville SC
2020: Ben Lundt, Louisville City FC
2021: Evan Louro, Tampa Bay Rowdies

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos