skip navigation

2022 USL Championship Awards Finalists Revealed

By Staff, 11/02/22, 1:30PM EDT


Leading players, coaches during regular season nominated across five categories

TAMPA, Fla. – The USL Championship announced on Wednesday the finalists for the 2022 USL Championship Awards, with the leading performers in five categories earning nomination after a compelling 2022 regular season campaign. The award winners will be announced between Tuesday, Nov. 8 and Thursday, Nov. 10 prior to the 2022 USL Championship Final on Sunday, Nov. 13 (ESPN2, ESPN Deportes, SiriusXM FC).

Nine finalists across the players and coaches nominated could be in action this weekend in the Eastern and Western Conference Finals of the 2022 USL Championship Playoffs presented by Hisense, which see Louisville City FC play host to the Tampa Bay Rowdies on Saturday night at 7:30 p.m. ET in the East, and San Antonio FC play host to Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC on Sunday night at 8:30 p.m. ET in the West.

The 2022 USL Championship Awards were voted on by team management and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL market.

2022 Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists – Winner announced Tuesday, Nov. 8

Jordan Farr, San Antonio FC – Farr equaled the Championship’s individual single-season shutout record with 15 clean sheets in the regular season, while his save percentage of 75.8 percent ranked second in the league among goalkeepers with at least 50 saves in the campaign.

Ben Lundt, Phoenix Rising FC – Lundt led the Championship with 115 saves in the regular season, tied for the fifth-most in a campaign in league history, while recording nine shutouts and a save percentage of 69.1 percent in 33 appearances for Rising FC.

Kyle Morton, Louisville City FC – Morton claimed the Championship’s Golden Glove for the first time in his career, posting a 0.74 goals-against average and 13 shutouts in 28 appearances, as he helped LouCity to its best regular season record in club history.

2022 Defender of the Year Finalists – Winner announced Tuesday, Nov. 8

Aaron Guillen, Tampa Bay Rowdies – Guillen played all-but-25 minutes of the regular season for the Rowdies and ranked fourth among defenders with 211 recoveries while posting a duel success rate of 66.8 percent, an aerial duels success rate of 68.3 percent, and a passing accuracy rate of 84.6 percent on 1,653 passes, second most among defenders in the league.

Mitchell Taintor, San Antonio FC – Taintor ranked second among defenders with 72 interceptions and third with 215 recoveries while winning 61.6 percent of duels and 66.4 percent of aerial duels. The center back also recorded five goals as San Antonio conceded the fewest goals in the regular season and equaled the single-season record for shutouts by a team with 17.

Sean Totsch, Louisville City FC – Totsch earned the second nomination of his career as he set a Championship record for defenders with nine goals – five of which came from the penalty spot – while defensively he notched 47 clearances and 33 interceptions and had an 82.7 percent passing accuracy rate.

2022 Coach of the Year Finalists – Winner announced Wednesday, Nov. 9

Trevor James, Detroit City FC – James led an outstanding and consistent first season for Detroit City FC in the Championship that saw Le Rouge qualify for the 2022 USL Championship Playoffs and lose consecutive games only once during the regular season while conceding the third-fewest goals in the regular season.

Alen Marcina, San Antonio FC – Marcina’s squad equaled league single-season records with 24 victories, 13 away victories and 17 shutouts while claiming 77 points, tied for the second-highest total in Championship history as SAFC’s defensive prowess saw the side conceded the fewest goals in the campaign.

Ben Pirmann, Memphis 901 FC – Pirmann’s squad continued its upward progression in the best regular season in 901 FC’s history, earning a second-place finish in the Eastern Conference while ranking third in the league with 67 goals and tied for fifth with 33 goals conceded.

2022 Young Player of the Year Finalists – Winner announced Wednesday, Nov. 9

Jake LaCava, Tampa Bay Rowdies – The 21-year-old quickly became an integral part of the Rowdies’ attack after his arrival on loan from the New York Red Bulls and recorded 12 goals and five assists on a shot conversion rate of 23.5 percent for the league’s highest-scoring attack.

Michee Ngalina, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC – The 22-year-old Congolese winger put in a second stellar season for the Switchbacks, scoring 12 goals while notching eight assists and 39 chances created and electrifying the crowd at Weidner Field with a league-high 80 completed dribbles in the regular season.

Joshua Wynder, Louisville City FC – The 17-year-old LouCity Academy product earned his place in the club’s First Team and immediately shone, winning 61.7 percent of duels while making 45 clearances and 30 interceptions defensively, scoring his first two goals in the professional ranks, and recording a passing accuracy rate of 84.3 percent.

2022 Most Valuable Player Finalists – Winner announced Thursday, Nov. 10

Hadji Barry, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC – The 2021 MVP winner produced another outstanding campaign for the Switchbacks with 16 goals and nine assists in 30 appearances before being transferred for a USL Championship record fee to Egyptian Premier League club Future FC late in the season.

Leo Fernandes, Tampa Bay Rowdies – One of the Rowdies’ longest-serving players, Fernandes had a career campaign as he led the Championship with 28 combined goals and assists (19 goals, 9 assists) while notching 54 chances created and a +11.13 Goals Added mark for the highest-scoring side in the league this season.

Aaron Molloy, Memphis 901 FC – The Irish midfielder followed his nomination for the 2021 USL League One MVP award last fall with a standout all-around season for 901 FC that saw him record eight goals, 10 assists and 72 chances created while ranking second among outfield players with 258 recoveries and posting a duel success rate of 64.4 percent.

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos