skip navigation

U.S. Soccer Announces Field for 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup

By Staff, 01/08/20, 12:00PM EST


25 teams from USL Championship to enter 107th edition of tournament in Second Round

Saint Louis FC defeated FC Cincinnati on the way to the Quarterfinals of the 2019 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. | Photo courtesy Nick Dawes / Saint Louis FC

CHICAGO – U.S. Soccer announced the official field for the 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup on Wednesday with 25 teams set to represent the USL Championship in the historic tournament when they enter the tournament this April.

San Diego Loyal SC will be the Championship’s lone new entrant in the tournament this year, with fellow league newcomer Miami FC having played in the tournament since the club’s founding, reaching the Quarterfinals in the 2017 edition.

All of the Championship’s clubs will be looking to try and emulate the heroics of New Mexico United and Saint Louis FC from a season ago, when both teams reached the Quarterfinals as they defeated a pair of clubs from Major League Soccer in the Fourth Round and Round of 16.

Other recent runs in the tournament by current members of the Championship have come from the likes of Louisville City FC, which also reached the Quarterfinals in 2018, while the Charleston Battery remain the last lower-division side to reach the tournament’s Final, a feat they accomplished in 2008 under current Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser before falling to D.C. United in the final.

Every game of the 107th edition of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup will be streamed live on ESPN+, with the Championship’s clubs entering in the Second Round between April 7-9. The winners of those contests will be joined by 11 teams from Major League Soccer in the Third Round on April 21-23, with the remaining 12 teams from MLS entering in the Round of 32, scheduled for May 19-20.

The draw for the opening two rounds of the 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup will be made prior to the end of January, with the First Round draw scheduled to be announced on January 22, and the potential matchups for the Second Round scheduled to be announced on January 29.

USL Championship teams entering in the Second Round: Austin Bold FC, Birmingham Legion FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, El Paso Locomotive FC, FC Tulsa, Hartford Athletic, Indy Eleven, Las Vegas Lights FC, Louisville City FC, Memphis 901 FC, Miami FC, New Mexico United, North Carolina FC, OKC Energy FC, Orange County SC, Phoenix Rising FC, Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC, Reno 1868 FC, Sacramento Republic FC, Saint Louis FC, San Antonio FC, San Diego Loyal SC, Tampa Bay Rowdies

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos