skip navigation

Monarchs’ Okumu Selected for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations

By Staff, 06/13/19, 12:39PM EDT


Kenyan defender is first player in RSL, Monarchs history named to a final AFCON roster

Real Monarchs SLC defender Joseph Stanley Okumu has been named to the Kenyan National Team roster for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations this month. | Photo courtesy Real Monarchs SLC

HERRIMAN, Utah – Real Monarchs SLC defender Joseph Stanley Okumu has been named to the Kenyan National Team’s final roster by Head Coach Sébastien Migné ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations. Kenya was drawn into Group C for this year’s AFCON tournament alongside Algeria, Senegal and Tanzania. They will kick off the tournament on June 23 against Algeria in Cairo, Egypt.

“Congratulations to Stanley. This is a tremendous accomplishment for him in his young career,” Real Monarchs General Manager Dan Egner said. “His selection for the final AFCON roster for Kenya is a testament to the hard work he has put in over the last year. Getting to represent your country at a major tournament is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and we couldn’t be happier for Stan. Everyone at the club is excited to watch him take the field in Egypt.

The Monarchs acquired Okumu, 22, midway through 2018 after he had competed for AFC Ann Arbor, where he helped his side to a second consecutive Great Lakes Conference Championship. In 11 matches for the Monarchs, Okumu has registered 717 minutes.

The full Kenya squad for the 2019 AFCON is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St. George, Ethiopia), Faruk Shikalo (Bandari FC), John Oyemba

Defenders: David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs SLC, USA), Joash Onyango, Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Eric Ouma (Vassalund, Sweden), Aboud Omar (Sepsi OSK, Romania)

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Ismail Gonzalez (UCD Las Palmas, Spain), Dennis Omino (Sofapaka FC), Eric Johannah (IF Bromma, Sweden), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Paul Were (AFC Leopards), Johannah Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium)

Forwards: Ovela Ochieng (Vassalund, Sweden), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), John Avire (Sofapaka, Kenya), Masud Juma (Al Nasr, Libya)

Follow the USL Championship

Most Recent News

Most Read News

Latest Videos